Expand my Community achievements bar.

Difference between LiveCycle Workbench ES and LiveCycle Designer ES

Level 2

Pardon me. I am really new in this product. Can some please explain to me the difference between the two above products.

I have LiveCycle Designer 8 ES.

I am wondering where can i download LiveCycle Workbench ES

Thank you

Kebaya

6 Replies

Level 8

In brief:

Designer is a tool for creating forms and form templates

Workbench is a tool for creating LiveCycle workflows.  Workbench includes a copy of Designer so you can add forms to your workflows.

Workbench comes with LiveCycle ES.

Employee

LiveCycle Designer is Adobe's form design product. Since you have the product, I am sure you understand what it is meant to do. LiveCycle Workbench is the integrated design environment (IDE) that comes with LiveCycle Enterprise Suite. LC ES is a server-side platform that enables you to create enterprise applications that range from data capture processing (accept data posted from a form created in LiveCycle Designer for example and store the submitted data in your back office), Correspondence Management (generation of documents, protection of said documents, document management, etc) to Business Process Management (routing work from one person to the next).

LiveCycle Workbench is the design tool used to build these server-side applications. LC Workbench is made up of two main components: Process Designer (used to model the types of applications I mentioned above) and Form Designer (aka LiveCycle Designer). The only difference between the LiveCycle Designer you get with Acrobat and the Form Designer that is embedded in LC Workbench is that the version in Workbench is tied to the server runtime - meaning that all of the form templates you create get saved in the LC ES Repository. The version you have that comes with Acrobat has all of the same functionality except that the form templates you design are saved to your local file system.