• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Text formatting, errant/missing spaces, misleading preview and streamlined editing.

May 13, 2009 May 13, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I've read up a bit on this forum and at http://www.grainge.org/. I'm still very new to Robohelp (I've only been using it for about 2 months).

I'm currently using Robohelp 7.03.001 and editing a help file created in earlier versions (Robohelp 5 and older - the project started in 1993/4).

I understand that Robohelp will sometimes add-in extraneous bits of code, which will affect the format of the text, and that this problem is exacerbated by altering the text format multiple times. To fix this problem I've either retyped the offending text or tried to edit the html code (removing unnecessary tags).

So far I've been using the preview function to check for formatting errors. But I've gotten to the stage where I need to show the project to someone else and therefore generated the pages. The generated pages, however, contain mistakes that didn't previously show up in the preview function.

I've had some success going back into the html and digging out the problematic code by checking the generated page. But this is very cumbersome, is there a better way?

Specific Questions:

1) The incidence of Robohelp-caused formatting problems seems to be lower in the original project files. Could part of the problem be that I'm editing pages created using older versions of Robohelp and that just by opening the pages in Robohelp 7, the code is being altered? And if so are there automated converters or a better way of editing than just by eye.

2) I'm having problems locating dropdown and expanding text in the html. I try to look up the ID numbers but this doesn't always yield results. Any hints and tips?