Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Context Sensitive Help

New Here ,
Jun 05, 2006 Jun 05, 2006

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all,

I'm relatively new to RoboHelp so forgive me if I'm a bit of newb at this whole thing. I'm looking to implement context sensitive help for a Visual Basic .NET Windows application in Visual Studio 2005. The problem is that VS 2005 doesn't support map files anymore, for some reason. I'm sure I could figure this out in 2003... but I'm just plain stuck.

Thus far, I've googled this problem for the last week and I've found nothing but support for VS 2003. Could someone be so kind as to point me in the right direction for implementing Context Sensitive Help in VS 2005?

Much obliged!

Cheers!
Amanda Hoffman

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,
Jun 06, 2006 Jun 06, 2006

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

A search on .NET on the forum retrieved one of my posts on this subject from last year:

==================================================

Our developers name all forms (windows), tabs, and controls, and they call like-named WebHelp HTM files directly in a cascading drop-off style. For example, in this call for a Name drop-down selection field on the Main tab of an Admin window:

adminmainmenu.admainmaintab.admainnameedit.htm

The app looks for admainnameedit.htm first; not finding that, it looks for admainmaintab.htm next, then finally settles on adminmainmenu.htm (we're only using window-level help right now, but with all elements named we could go more granular anytime).

Because our help is a merged WebHelp project, we also place a comma-separated formpath.txt file at the root, with entries like these to denote the projects (folders) where the app will find the topics:

adminmainmenu, mergedProjects\admin

Good luck,
Leon

Votes

Translate

Translate