Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dynamic form, creating flow and duplicating header

Level 2

I am completely new to LiveCycle and unfortunately, no one at work knows anything about it. I am trying to create a form that repeats a segment of the document as a header. Also, I need a portion of the form to expand, much like in the tutorial for the purchase order. I've attepted to follow the tutorial and apply it to my form, but end up with much different results. I'm not quite sure where I'm going wrong, but I've included the file. So if anyone can tell me where I'm going wrong, or if I'm using the wrong tools, please help. It should be fairly easy to tell which part I need as the header, and what part I need to "flow", once you look at it. But I will keep an eye on the posts in case there are any questions for me. Thanks.

13 Replies

Former Community Member

I've had a look at your form. I assume that the header is the Header underneath Parts List for Graphic Revision. If so you have set these up as captions on the fields below. Create these as separate text objects, and wrap them in a Positioned subform which is in turn wrapped in a flowed subform. The repeating lines need to be separate fields and you have one field as being the entire height of the table. Make them smaller (to fit one to two lines of text). Wrap all of these in a positioned subform and put that in a separate flowed subform. Then you will be in a position to make things repeat and control headers etc.

Paul

Level 2

Thank you. I'm so new to LiveCycle, and Adobe in general, that I knew I was missing some basic things. I will try out your advice and probably post more questions along the way. You've definitely given me a start... thanks.

Level 2

Ok, hopefully you will check this again. I'm not very familiar with how forums work, so I don't know if it will notify you that I have replied with another question, like it notified me when you answer.