Expand my Community achievements bar.

How to create EncryptDocument Process ?

Level 1

I'm new to Adobe LiveCycle ES, and I'm now stuck with all tutorials dealing with pdf encryption because most of them are using the EncryptDocument process. But I didn't manage to find where this process creation with Workbench ES is explained. If somebody could indicate me where it is, or how to create it, it would really help me..

Thanks.

4 Replies

Former Community Member

LiveCycle ES Update 1 supports three methods for document encryption, Password protection, Certificate based encryption (digital certificates are used to encrypt the PDF for specific users), and Rights Management ES document encryption.

The password based encryption, and certificate based encryption is part of the "Encryption" service that can be located in the "Common" category in Workbench.  This ships with LiveCycle as part of the foundation.

The Rights Management ES based encryption is a sepearte solution component that you must purchase a license for.

For further information on these services, search the Workbench help for "Certificate Encrypt PDF", Password Encrypt PDF" and "Apply Policy"

Note: LiveCycle ES (8.0x) did npot support Certificate based encryption.  It was added to Update 1.

Regards

Steve

Level 1

We purchased Adobe LiveCycle Rights Management ES as well (we've got the complete set of tools, v8.2). My problem is more to follow liveDocs or quick start guides, because they all mention a process called "EncryptDocument", which should be created with Workbench ES, but I don't find any tutorial to create it correctly.

Here is an example of a livedoc refering to this process :

http://livedocs.adobe.com/livecycle/8.2/programLC/programmer/help/wwhelp/wwhimpl/js/html/wwhelp.htm?...

If somebody already created this process, or knows where I can find info about creating it, it would really help me..

Former Community Member