Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

RoboHelp 7 Crash - MS Visual C Runtime Error

Jun 11, 2009 Jun 11, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been using RH7 for many months. Today, I was using Single Source Layout > Printed Documentation > Properties. And it crashes without doing any more than looking at the dialogue; sometimes when setting the location for the output.

I get a Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library "Runtime Error" - RoboHTML.exe ... "The app has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way. Please contact the application's support team for more information."

This has now happened 3 times in a row.  On one occasion I was warned of a corrupted $StylePrepFile.htm, which I deleted and tried again.

I have rebooted; I have run Norton SystemWorks diagnostics to repair system errors. But it's still doing it.

I have tried deleting the CPD file, but it still crashes on this project. When I click on the OK button in the error message dialogue, RH disappears instantly. But you cannot re-open RH and then open the project again because it tells me it is locked by another instance of RH. I looked in Task Manager, and RoboHtml.exe is still loaded. I have to delete it here before I can reopen it and load the project.

A thought: I have been trying RH8 in Trial mode, and decided not to upgrade just yet; so I uninstalled it. Would this cause problems with RH7? If so, how do I fix it?

Any ideas anyone?RH_crash_90611b.gif

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 22, 2009 Jun 22, 2009

We know the problem is not the project as I was able to generate printed documentation from a project that was giving you these problems.