Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can't edit layer

New Here ,
Jun 21, 2009 Jun 21, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I'm hoping someone can help me shed some light on the issue I'm having, and I'll try to describe the problem as best I can.  I'm fairly new to photoshop and am just starting to work with layers.  My problem is that when I make more than one copy of the background layer, I can't seem to make changes to the newly created layer.  I've done some experimenting, and it seems that I can do things like crop, etc., but when I try to paint or use the clone or healing brush tools, the changes don't show up at all.  My layer is not locked so I'm not sure what the problem is.  Basically, I start by either doing a duplicate layer or a copy of the background layer.  The first time I do this, the new layer works fine.  However, if I try to do another copy/duplicate of the background layer, the second copy doesn't allow me to make the kinds of changes mentioned above.  If I copy the original copy of background layer it seems to work fine.  I'm not sure what I'm missing here, but would appreciate any feedback.

Thanks,

Christine

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It is hard to tell from here, but the first explanation that comes to mind is that the  newly created target layer is not selected in the layers palette.

Or maybe it is turned off with the "eye" symbol.

However, it may not be that simple. Could be a live selection outside the target area or an odd blending mode set for the tool.

shrug.gif

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied