• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Fireworks vs Dreamweaver

New Here ,
Sep 07, 2009 Sep 07, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Just trying to get my head round the point at which you should leave Fireworks to develop in Dreamweaver (sorry, I'm a newbie).

I'm working on a flowchart type diagram, where the various boxes will trigger swap images or hyperlinks to other pages.  I am drawing the chart in Fireworks, because it is clearly a lot easier to position things exactly where you want them.  As far as I am concerned, I can achieve all the functionality I need via Fireworks using hotspots and slices, but I keep reading that FW is more of a web prototyping tool, and the code it exports to DW isn't the most robust.

I want to use a page layout with a top title, and a left hand nav bar, with changing page content in the remaining space.  I planned to set up the actual site with its page layout in DW, but to export the flowchart, which will be the content of the index page, from FW.  Could someone please explain to me the best practice for moving from prototyping in FW to developing in DW?   What I mean is, what bits do you do in FW, and what bits should you do in DW?  Is it better to create the hotspots and slices in DW after export?  Sorry if this is too vague a question.  Any hints, or pointers to where it has already been answered appreciated.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guru ,
Sep 07, 2009 Sep 07, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Yes, it's true, it's always best to create the comp in Fireworks and then build the site in Dreamweaver.

If you are going to be using hotspots, again, apply them in Dreamweaver - it does have a hotspot tool.

This may help in the understanding of taking a FWs or PS comp to Dreamweaver.

TAKING FIREWORKS COMP TO DREAMWEAVER: