Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

RH7 Crashes When Adding/Renaming Folders

Sep 11, 2009 Sep 11, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am using RH 7.02.001 on WinXP (via the TCS, if that is relevant).

I think what I'm looking for is some perspective on migrating a single project to a collection of merged projects.

I have a fairly large HTML project (1500 topics in 100 or so folders, 2000 images) which I've been working with since 2003 in various versions of RH. I use conditional build tags quite a bit, and output WebHelp (primary) and a number of Printed Documentation builds.

The project has grown a bit since inception, but not by much.  It is mostly in maintenance mode.

It has generally been fairly easy to work with over the years, but in the past few months, it has started to crash every time I try to create a new folder or rename a folder via the Project Manager.

I have rebuilt the .cpd file, but that has not helped.  The fact that this project behaved itself up until recently makes me wonder where the problem lies.

I think I'm at the point where I have to decide whether to split the project up and used a merged approach, or whether upgrading to RH8 (or the next patch level of RH7) will solve this problem. Or adding RAM.

I'd rather not convert this to a merged solution for several reasons:

- the TOC structure will have to be re-evaluated

- broken links will need to be repaired

- conditional builds, SSLs, etc., will need to be addressed

- will the new structure play nicely with Subversion?

- having 1 project makes it easier to apply certain global changes more quickly (e.g. changing headers/footers via a single .htt, applying a CSS change)

- need to train the team on working with the merged approach