15 Replies Latest reply: Dec 15, 2010 12:19 PM by ikixxx RSS

Make site background FLV movie

danny.abel Community Member

Hello --- I am trying to create a Flash website where the background is an FLV movie like (http://www.kmotionmedia.com/ or http://brooklynfoundry.com).  I would also like the site to resize depending on the size of the viewers browser window (I assume there is a javascript command for this).  I am using Flash CS3 with AS3. 

I am a bit of newbie and have only incorporated videos into sites using the Flash prefab components.  Does anyone have any idea how I might do this?  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  My client needs this website finished by Wednesday (oh boy!).

• 1. Re: Make site background FLV movie
          Rob Dillon MVP

If you don't care about audio sync, then the solution is simple. Just import the flv into your Flash movie, size the movie to fill the stage area. The flv will just play with no on screen controls. Playing an flv with sound in the timeline will usually result in a loss of sync. It may be slight or severe.

To resize the browser window, look at the Javascript functions resize() and resizeTo().

• 2. Re: Make site background FLV movie

Hi Rob -- thank you so much for your response!  Will the java code that you gave me allow the website to automatically fill whatever browser window that it is viewed on?  And if so (I am very unsophisticated with java) where do I type in the code?  Within the HTML file or the action script?

Also, what is the AS3 command for automatically looping an FLV?

• 3. Re: Make site background FLV movie
              Rob Dillon MVP

If you import the flv into its own movieclip and place that movieclip on the main timeline, you don't need to do anything to have it loop. Movieclips loop unless you tell them not to.

You want to write a javascript function for the head section of your HTML doc. Something like this:

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
                  function bigMe() {