Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Phone Number

Level 1

Hey everyone.

I should just point out that I am very very new at creating forms.

I'm sure that what I need help with won't be complicated. Here goes...

I want to create a phone number field, where whoever is filling in the form must enter the phone number in the following way:

(zz)zzzz-zzzz

This is an Australian phone number for mat where (zz) is the area code (e.g. (03). I would like livecycle to automatically insert the brackets around the area code.

the rest is self explanatory, if the user enters 00008888 (for example) or any other number combination, i want the dash to be inserted so that it becomes 0000-8888.

the end product should look like this

(03)0000-8888.

Also, I'm wondering how to make sure users know which way I want the phone number entered. Some websites I see out there work in the following way and I'm wondering whether livecyle is also capable of this:

When the user is given a blank form to fill in, the field has the following default text in it (i'll use a phone number field for example)-

(__)____-____

The user then understand that they must enter two numbers for the area code and 8 numbers for the main phone number. Forms ive seen out there also do not let the user type any more or any less characters than absolutely required. Whereas when I create a form with a phone number field, the field as blank by default and the user will be stuck wondering how the phone number should be entered...

Also, what type of field should i be using? Text, Numeric.etc

Any help would be appreciated!

2 Replies

Former Community Member