• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Keyboard controls with the default playback skin

New Here ,
Feb 25, 2009 Feb 25, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm a noob, and this seems like it should be a noob question - but I really have searched far and wide to try to find an answer... with no luck at all. Mr Captiv8r - you may be my last hope

In Captivate 4, I am using powerpoint import to create a presentation with audio, that can be sent via exe. Everything is dead simple, except one thing. I want to use the default skin for the playback controls (rather than create my own buttons to do exactly the same thing). But for those without a mouse, I want them to be able to skip forward and backward through slides using the keyboard. I would expect to just be able to use the cursor keys, but I can't seem to assign any key to move through the slides. It works fine when you point the mouse and click on the playback controls obviously. I would have thought this must be there somewhere as it is a basic accesability feature.

Is there something easy I am missing, or can Captivate really not do this without designing my own playback controls using buttons, etc?

Cheers, Andy
TOPICS
Getting started

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Feb 25, 2009 Feb 25, 2009
Welcome to our community, Andy

Since the playback controls don't seem to support operating using keystrokes, I'm thinking you might wish to enhance your project by adding Click Boxes to each slide. Configure one Click Box on Slide 1 to simply "Go to next slide" and assign a shortcut key of the Right Arrow. Tuck it out of the way in a corner. Its only purpose will be to allow the user to pres the Right Arrow to advance. Then copy it and paste it across all slides.