• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Make CP4 project *not* look like a series of slides

Explorer ,
Jan 05, 2010 Jan 05, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all - this is a rather general question about elearning development with CP4. I've been using CP for several years now but a new client is specifically asking for their project to "not be PowerPointy". In other words, they don't want their project to appear to be a series of slides, the way PPT is laid out. (This is ironic since the source they're providing me with is in PPT.)

Nevertheless, my question to the forum is, what strategies do you use to "dress up" your CP projects and have them appear less like a series of slides?

Thanks!

TOPICS
Getting started

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Jan 07, 2010 Jan 07, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi alight9010,

The are a number of things that I do to avoid accusations of 'fancy powerpoint'.

1.  I never refer to my Cap pages as slides, as you can see I call them pages.

2.  I use plain dark backgrounds - I find powerpoint users tend to have the 'whiteblast' a lot.

3.  I use perpetual buttons for navigation rather than one of the built in progress bars.

4.  Be creative with the advanced functions of Captivate (hiding and showing items with clicks, prompting user interactions, etc)

5.  Use your photo/video editting skills to build the slickest objects you can for filler (transparency is your friend!)

Ideally an highly interactive (for users this can be as simple as rollovers) CBT will have no analog to PowerPoint which tends to be a static presentation.  Don't over design but do use the features available within Captivate to go far beyond PowerPoint.