Expand my Community achievements bar.

Disallow form submit if number entered is outside range

Former Community Member

Hi. Newbie here.

I have a form with a 'budget' field that is hidden unless the user chooses a specified value in a field called 'status.' When visible, the 'budget' field is mandatory.

The script for the above works fine, but in addition to being mandatory when visible, the 'budget' field must only accept values within a range of, say, between 1 and 100.

I can't figure out how to script the following:

• 'Is 'budget' value between 1 and 100?
  • If yes, allow user to submit form.
  • If no, inform the user to enter a value within range (AND disallow form submittal).

Questions:

1. Will I use the 'within' function in an 'if' statement?
  2. The 'budget' field must be numeric?
  3. Will the script act upon the 'budget' field directly?
  4. Which event(s) should be used?

Please help!

Thanks -Sam

2 Replies

Former Community Member

Sam,

The attached form demonstrates a common technique for doing form validation on submission. The form contains a drop-down called 'status' which controls the visibility of a field called 'budget'.

// form1.page1.subform1.status::exit - (JavaScript, client)

if (form1.page1.subform1.status.rawValue == "visible") {

form1.page1.subform1.budget.presence = "visible";

}

else {

if (form1.page1.subform1.status.rawValue == "hidden") {

form1.page1.subform1.budget.presence = "hidden";

}

}

When 'visible' is selected from 'status' the 'budget' field is visible and available for entry. The exit event declares 'budget' as a mandatory field and requires a value between 1 and 100.

// form1.page1.subform1.budget::exit - (JavaScript, client)

if (form1.page1.subform1.budget.isNull) {

xfa.host.messageBox("Budget is a mandatory field when status is 'visible'.");

}

else {

if (form1.page1.subform1.budget.rawValue < 1 || form1.page1.subform1.budget.rawValue > 100) {