Expand my Community achievements bar.

SOLVED

How do I setFocus on a field

Former Community Member

When the user clicks a "new" button, our dynamic xds form creates a new row for them to enter data on.  By default the first field (after a button) gets focus.  What we would like to do is have the third field get the focus.

I'm assuming that in the "new" button I would do a setFocus on something.  But as a newbie, I wouldn't put money on that.

I think what is missing is the index of the row.  W/O that, it looks like this:

xfa.host.setFocus(data.sfPage.sfParent.sfTableRow.phone)

TIA,

Jerry

1 Accepted Solution

Correct answer by
Level 6

This is on the right track.  A few things:

You will only want to use addInstance when the user is adding a new row.  This will cause a new row to appear on the form.  The newly added row is returned to you so you can reference the objects in it to, say, initialize some values.

Your error check will occur later, probably when a submit button is pressed so that you can validate the data.  At that point all of the rows will be added already, and you don't want to use addInstance any more or you'll just get new rows.  Instead, this is the time that you'll have to loop the rows (more about that later).

When you want to indicate an error on a row, setting the focus is not the best way.  You can only set the focus on one object, so if you have more than one row with an error it will only indicate one error.  Your current script will only indicate the last one found. Better to use a color highlight from the getgo; it's not any more complicated.

If all you want to do is make sure that a field is filled in, make it mandatory; the submit process will not proceed unless all mandatory fields are filled in.  If you want to do more advanced error checking on your data, you can use scripting.