Expand my Community achievements bar.

Changing hand-filled forms into PDFs, fill-in lines are making it tough

Level 2

Hello!

I joined the forum because I see that so many people are being assisted and their questions are being answered. I hope that I will be as lucky!

I am quite new to using LiveCycle, and I am just getting the hang of it. My employer has a large number of preexisting .doc forms that were designed to be printed and filled in with pen (I know, so old fashioned lol.) We are now looking toward making these exact forms into digital PDFs. We want the forms to be both pen AND digital friendly. Therefore, I am working with forms that have things like multiple FIB lines for writing. Whatever I do to these forms, whats underneath cannot change... and so it has to work with the multiple fill-in-the-blank lines that are already there.

I am hoping there is someone out there with the "tech-how" to help me solve my problem, and do the two things that my employer really, really wants:

(1) allow these existing pen-friendly forms to be filled in electronically

(2) mark these existing forms along the bottom left with the date they were printed off the server (and possibly with the network login of whomever printed them.)

In order to try and accomplish (1), I created text fields for each of the lines in the "additional information" and "additional details" secitons. What I do not understand is, wow do I make it so that when a person fills in the first field, it will then automatically jump the next whole word to the following field? Is there a way to "link" the four fields together? The way I have it now, the user fills in the first line, then the user must tab to the next, fill that one, tab to the next, and so on. This prevents people from simply typing their answers, which is an unfortunate hinderance.