Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

Delete a row instance with a custom message box

Level 1

Hello all

I am a new developer and I hope I can get some help from this forum. I took a three day training for Lifecycle ES designer and understand how the forms work but I am new to JavaScript. I am building a form where I can successfully add a table in a sub form and delete one. The issue I am having is setting up a message and checking for the instance so that a user gets my message box instead of the default that Adobe generates when the script is run for the first signature block table that needs to be in the document by default. The min box property for the table has a 1 in it.

Here is my script in the button.

form1.Page1.Page2subform.SignatureBlock.clientSignatureBlock.buttonSubForm.removeClientSignature::click - (FormCalc, client)

clientSignatureTable.instanceManager.removeInstance(1);

This script works just fine and so is my add button.

I can't figure out how to design an if statement that says

If instance > then default instance then

delete instance

else

show $host.messageBox("Cannot delete client signature block.");

I will truly appreciate some help. Thank you. Deepa

default delete table error message.jpg

3 Replies

Former Community Member

The deleteInstance method requires that you pass the index of the subform that you want to remove. The indexes are 0 based so you are asking to remove the 2nd instance and there is none so the script fails. You can get a count of the subforms by using the count property ...this returns a 1 based number of subforms. So .......

if (clientSignatureTable.instanceManager.count != 1){

remove subform .....

} else {

xfa.host.messageBox("Your message here ....")

}

Hope that helps

Paul

Level 1