• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Some V7 vs V8 RoboHelp HTML Questions

Mar 30, 2010 Mar 30, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

Firstly, I apologize that I have to ask these questions here. I tried to message to support and make a phone call but gave up in despair. I could not get the people to understand my questions. I have no idea whom to contact to further discuss these issues. I hope someone here can advise wisely.

1. In my current version of RoboHelp, v7, whenever I generate output (Webhelp), for no known reason, sometimes the CSS becomes corrupted even though I made no changes to it. I have learned to back up a read only version which I copy over into my project whenever this happens. Make it writeable, and then it works again - for a while.
    • Has anyone else experience this problem?
    • Is it a known bug in V7?
    • If yes, has the the bug been corrected in V8?
  2. I am a contractor working for a client with V7. Their license is installed on my computer. Once I finish this project I will return the license to them and uninstall RoboHelp from my computer. They have no plans on investing in an upgrade to V8. However, I am considering (big word, consider) adding RoboHelp to the help tools installed on my computer for using for other projects I work on. Is there any way I can install a DEMO of V8 on my computer without in any way impacting the V7 installation of my client? Should I buy it, is there ANY way, I can have BOTH versions installed on my computer so that my client is not stuck having to move up to V8 as well?
  3. I asked support if they had any white papers about RoboHelp that compares it to some of their competitors. I was told "no." Can anyone give me some wise advise as to how RoboHelp, in your point of view, is better than other Help authoring tools such as AuthorIt or Flare? What are the major selling points FOR RoboHelp in your opinion?