Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Resizing Project increases cp file size significantly

Mar 09, 2010 Mar 09, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to captivate and am trying to find a way to best work with it. I noticed that if I create a project and then resize (smaller 75% of original) the entire project, the cp file increases in size from about 50 to 100% in some cases. Can someone explain why this is occurring? While it might be intuitive that the file size would decrease I can understand that not happening and even a small additional overhead increasing file size modestly. But I can’t understand this significant increase and it blows my approach to building applications right out of the water.

In case it helps the application I am simulating has a rather complicated GUI so I need a significant amount of screen space for the demo. Moving to the web means, of course that the user will have to scroll to see the entire captivate animation. Keeping the demo large when creating it and just reducing its size for the web is very efficient but not at the cost of the file size increase. The decrease in resolution (of the reduced size) is not significant issue.

Any help or explanation is appreciated.

TOPICS
Getting started

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Apr 07, 2010 Apr 07, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It's possible that all of your images were switched from JPG to or PNG to BMP extensions during the resize.  BMP images are significantly larger than .jpg or .png.

Check your library before and after the conversion.  It will show you the size of each image.