5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 10, 2010 8:25 AM by mhollis55

Which is the better app for devloping a freelance design website?

KatyDad Level 1

Hey Forum

I'm putting together a website for my freelance design business. I've rough out the site, but now I'm stuck between using Dreamweaver or Flash. The site is relatively simple with the common home, about, philosophy portfolio and contact pages. I know that Dreamweaver is a real workhorse and is very stable. But as a designer I want a little more glitz and freedom which Flash seems to have. If I do use Flash, I'm worried about bandwidth, search capabilities and device compatibilities.

Any insight would very helpful

KatyDad

• 1. Re: Which is the better app for devloping a freelance design website?
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The stability of Dreamweavere will have no little bearing on the stability of your web site--Dreamweaver provides tools, it doesn't teach you how/when to use them.  Your decision on which way to go should be based on what it is you are trying to sell.  If you are selling web site design, then you may want to temper things towards a non-Flash design base so that you can demonstrate your coding skills alongside the graphics aspects of it.  If you are selling Flash-based designs, then Flash would be a good vehicle to demo the work itself.  If Flash is not a big part of what you are selling, then it should not be a big part of what you put on display.  But you can always mix things up, showing Flash elements and html/css elements, if the intention is to show well-rounded skills across the design options palette.

Be prepared for a large swing in differences in the responses.

• 2. Re: Which is the better app for developing a freelance design website?
            mhollis55 Level 4

Ned's right, there will be big response swings for and against Flash.