11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2010 1:45 PM by Steve Grisetti

Premiere Elements 8, Canon 7D, Windows 7 PC - what am I doing wrong?!

Ben_Darvill2

I'd be extremely grateful if someone could help me solve a problem that seems to be impossible for me to fix at present.

I am a stills photographer with no knowledge of video terminology, so if you could explain even the most basic things that would be great!

I have:

Canon 7D

Adobe Premiere Elements 8

Intel Core 2 Duo 1.83 Ghz

3 GB RAM

Windows 7 64 bit

I have added, in an attempt to get this working:

MPEG_Streamclip

AVID DNxHD (recommended codec to use in mpeg_streamclip)

CineForm Neo Scene

Editing presets for Premiere Elements 8 supporting 24p, 25p, 50p and 60p (described here: http://forums.adobe.com/message/2694134#2694134)

Okay - so hopefully that provides some background.

My problem: Seemingly whatever I do, when I import a video and put it on the timeline, render by hitting enter and then press play, playback is jumpy/stuttering. Note that I can watch the movies on this PC just fine - smooth playback, even before I convert them using Neo Scene or MPEG Streamclip. But, when I put them on the timeline, render, and play - stuttering playback.

I feel like I've read every forum thread about this out there, and had so many "oh, maybe that will work" moments, and yet still I can't get smooth preview playback in Premiere Elements 8.

This happens with 1080x720 clips at 50 fps, which is what I'm trying to work with just now. Same problem with 1080x1920 at 25 fps.

Any help you can give would be great.

Ben

• 1. Re: Premiere Elements 8, Canon 7D, Windows 7 PC - what am I doing wrong?!
          the_wine_snob Level 9

You might get some useful info from the links in this ARTICLE. Be sure to see the replies from Richard Crook.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Premiere Elements 8, Canon 7D, Windows 7 PC - what am I doing wrong?!
            the_wine_snob Level 9