Expand my Community achievements bar.

Database connection and what is the best method

Level 2

Hi - I am new at this, so hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

looking at a project costing form where specific users need to complete a form with some prepopulated data expense data

The data is in a local Access database at the moment, with plans on moving it to a web sql tables.

Overview

I would like to be able to open a main form, select various criteria

(ie select Project Number)

push button to load data the specific project data

push button to extend reader functionality and save as with a new name based on project number

After review, push button to send PDF to user by email (email address is in the loaded data).

User is able to save data locally on his PC (save capability with the extended reader functions)

When user finished, he can send pdf back to me for data upload to the database

Question 1:

I am looking at the ODBC connection strings and javascript to do this.

Is this possible? If so, what is the best way to do this?

Question 2:

Once the "extend features" has been used, can javascripts be used to load different data or extended the Reader functions can only be done after the data is loaded?

Any help or assistance as to where to look would be greatly appreciated.

9 Replies

Former Community Member

As long as your database provides an ODBC driver then it can be used to access the DB. Please see my answers below for the rest of your queries.

Paul

I would like to be able to open a main form, select various criteria (ie select Project Number) push button to load data the specific project data

<answer> This is doable. There are samples published but note that it will involve some javascript coding to accomplish

push button to extend reader functionality and save as with a new name based on project number