• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

RH8 Linked Word 2007 docx ->not all hyperlinks convert

New Here ,
Apr 20, 2010 Apr 20, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm brand new to RoboHelp. I'm linking Word docs instead of importing, and some Word cross-references are not turning into RH hyperlinks. Most of them work just fine. The ones that don't work look like hyperlinks; they are blue and bold (picking up the correct style from Word) but when I check the HTML, there is no code for a link. All the links in Word were created the same way: cross-references to Headers. Many, but not all, of the dead links have the first letter underlined. Some functional links have the first letter or word underlined too, as well as the whole link underlined.

Do only certain levels of headers convert to links (e.g. H1 and H2 only) or is there a maximum number of links allowed per Word docx? Why are only fragments of the links underlined?  I saw a few related questions in forums about hyperlinks not converting at all, but most of mine did convert. If none of them had, I'd know I was missing a switch somewhere, but since most of them work, and they were all created the same way, I'm not sure how to fix.

The Word documents were created by converting FrameMaker 7 documents to FrameMaker 9, then exported as RTF (the export from Frame 7 was not really usable). I created a Word template, created new documentx from it, then copied the RTF text. The cross-references all had to be redone, as the links in Frame were not to headers, but to manually created bookmarks.

I'd really like to keep the source docs in Word, so that I don't have to make all the future updates myself (the coders already use Word; they have no time to learn RoboHelp). Any suggestion would be much appreciated.

Thak you, Debbie @ Tronia Systems

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines