• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Query Not Working Within CFFUNCTION

Community Beginner ,
Apr 22, 2010 Apr 22, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been a CF developer for 15 years and I've never run into anything this strange or frustrating.  I've pulled my hair out for hours, googled, abstracted, simplified, prayed and done it all in reverse.  Can you help me?

A cffunction takes one string argument and from that string I build an array of "phrases" to run a query with, attempting to match a location name in my database.  For example, the string "the republic of boulder" would produce the array: ["the","republic","of","boulder","the republic","the republic of","the republic of boulder","republic of","republic of boulder","of boulder"].

Another cffunction uses the aforementioned cffunction and runs a cfquery.  A query based on the previously given example would be...

select locationid, locationname, locationaliasname from vwLocationsWithAlias where LocationName in ('the','the republic','the republic of','republic','republic of','republic of boulder','of','of boulder','boulder') or LocationAliasName in ('the','the republic','the republic of','republic','republic of','republic of boulder','of','of boulder','boulder')

This returns 2 records...

locationid - locationname - locationalias

99 - 'Boulder' - 'the republic'

68 - 'Boulder' - NULL

This is good.  Works fine and dandy.  HOWEVER... if the string is changed to "the republic", resulting in the phrases array ["the","republic","the republic"] which is then used to produce the query...

select locationid, locationname, locationaliasname from vwLocationsWithAlias where LocationName in ('the','the republic','republic') or LocationAliasName in ('the','the republic','republic')

This returns 0 records.  Say what?!  OK, just to make sure I'm not involuntarily HIGH I run that very same query in my SQL console against the same database in the cf datasource.  1 RECORD!