Expand my Community achievements bar.

Dive into Adobe Summit 2024! Explore curated list of AEM sessions & labs, register, connect with experts, ask questions, engage, and share insights. Don't miss the excitement.

If condiction in forms

Level 2

Hi to all the community. I'm really a beginner, and I'd like to ask you "how to do".

I'm usign LC to realize a form to pick infos coming form different areas of the company.

What I'd like to do is to condiction the appearance of a piece of the form just in case the filler selects an answer. I try to explain better:

in a multiple chose box, if the filler selects the answer 1, it must appear a set of questions; if he selects the answer 2, it must appear an other set of questions.

I've red about subforms, but I think it's not exectly what I need.

Is there anywhere a guide (a simple guide) explaining the basis to do this?

Thanks in advance!

4 Replies

Former Community Member

The easiest way to do this is to use the presence property to hide/show the parts of the form you want to control. I woudl wrap all of the questions that need to appear together in a subform. That way you can hide/show the subform and all of the contents of that subform will aquire the parent setting. If you do not then you will have to hide/show each individual object.

Now you can test the value of your choice box to see what the user selected then change the presence accordingly....somethig like this:

if (ChoiceListName == 1){

subformQuestionsA.presence = "visible";

subformQuestionsB.presence = "hidden";

} else {

subformQuestionsB.presence = "visible";

subformQuestionsA.presence ="hidden";

}

Paul

Level 2

Hi Paul, thanks for your reply.

It seems this is the way to do what I need.

I've an other question for you. It's more "operative" than the previous.