8 Replies Latest reply on May 1, 2006 1:04 AM by Fanaka72

Very Large Project

Fanaka72 Level 1
      I am a multimedia design student working on an interactive educational program for a local company. I took this project for the opportunity to learn more about Director than was covered in our class, which wasn't much. The project they have given me is quite large. It contains roughly 10 modules with an average of 15 pages per module. Each page is a combination of text, photos, video and audio. As you can see, this project is going to get very large. The first module is complete and is roughly 400MB.(I'm told that this will be the largest of all modules) My question is, is it possible to create a seperate movie for each module and then reference them from a main menu page, or will I have to compile all of it into one movie? Any input would be helpful.
        • 1. Re: Very Large Project
          Level 7
          > is it possible to create a seperate
          > movie for each module and then reference them from a main menu page

Yes, this is both possible and sensible. Check the dcos for the 'go'
          command. Essentially, when you want to navigate to another movie you'd
          use something like:
          _movie.go(1, "movie_name")
          • 2. Re: Very Large Project
            Fanaka72 Level 1
            Great! Thanks for the quick reply. I'll check it out.
            • 3. Re: Very Large Project
              Level 7
              To prepare final product for distribution can use the xtras menu /
              miodify movie command to protect or shockwave compress the external
              director file modules.

Shockwave compression works with CD-Roms as well as the net.
              • 4. Re: Very Large Project
                Level 7
                Hi,

As was said before, it is essential to divide your application into
                small movies that are linked rather than one large file. This will be