Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Understanding 'flattening artwork'

Jun 07, 2010 Jun 07, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to Illustrator.  I have to provide a 'flattened' image.  I think I have followed the instructions (although I am not entirely sure I have 'chosen the layer' as I don't understand layers).  How do i know if I have successfully 'flattened my artwork"?  The option remains 'enabled' in the drop down menu...

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 07, 2010 Jun 07, 2010

Highlighting a layer in the Layers panel does not select anything. You can Option-click on the layer or just select the artwork in question. But, once again, you almost certainly do not need to and are making much more work for  yourself for nothing. If a printer, client, or supplier is requesting flattened artwork then they are not using Illustrator. This means they don’t want an Illustrator file, they want an EPS or a PDF. EPS files are always flattened, since the format does not support trans

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You “don’t” need to put quotes “around” every fourth word “for” us to understand you. We use “this” program all the time “and” the terms are very familiar “to” us.