• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

OCR really necesary ?

New Here ,
Jan 05, 2010 Jan 05, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Newbie here need help on my first ebook creation.

I have 70mb of Jpeg scan of a book and just started doing Ocr on it and its a drag to begin with,

manual correction is needed on almost every page, but probably the worst thing is that you need

to check up on the original for every time you do a page because the pages arent in order with the

contents(where certain topics are).

The average filesize is 400-500kb(195 pics in total), i scanned two pages in one pic,

is there any file size reduction tech that can get me on track?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Jan 24, 2010 Jan 24, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As scanned text content is generally US letter page size or EU A4 page size the resulting image (that is parked in PDF) is, essentially, just another "graphic".
Even if "two pages" are processed to give a "one page" output - still have a large virtual page size.
If your audience is using eBook readers this poses a problem as graphics/images do not reflow to fit the smaller screen. Even more of an issue with mobile devices.
Depending on what the particular eBook reader can or cannot do with a PDF would dictate the usefulness of OCR.

If you audience is using a computer the the page size is not an issue. However, without OCR of the image's text, one cannot do a "Find" or "Search".
Not being able to use Find or (using an embedded index or Catalog index) use Search means when the user wants to go to something in particular in the PDF they cannot.
This becomes an annoyance quickly.

Size reduction (image compression).
For images you have CCIT, ZIP, JPEG, JPEG 2000, etc.