• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Best way to send file to Printing Company?

New Here ,
Jul 10, 2010 Jul 10, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I'm new to Illustrator (but understand Indesign pretty well).  I have poster-sized file (32'' x 70'') that I need to send to my printing company.  It will be printed at 200%.  Will a PDF not be clear enough?  There is one image.  Do you need to "package" like in Indesign so they have the high res images and fonts?

Whats the best way to send a file for a high quality print?

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I would say: pick up the phone and call them! You may want to discuss other things than file format. I'm thinking of for instance how much bleed you'll have to provide.

Chances are that they will accept .Ai files. Make sure you use CMYK colours, though.

HTH

Steven

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The OP's InDesign Policies are probably the best way to go to link the image and prepare it at twice the resolution they expect for out put since they are printing at 200%.

However in the past many AI user would mark the Illustrator option to include linked images as a precaution. And then outline the fonts as well.

And then some made a pdf of that file as well.

I usually do not print from AI but when I have I have sent both the AI file and PDF as well and packaged the fonts and images. I have never outlined the fonts.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines