Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to convert text to curves?????

New Here ,
Jul 29, 2010 Jul 29, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I have a document that i need to send to a printes and they have informed me that I need to convert any text to curves!!!!!  I am very new to Illustrator and I have no idea how to do this.

Is there anyone that could please help me?

Thanks

Kelle

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Engaged ,
Jul 29, 2010 Jul 29, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Select all the text on the document

Then go to  > Type > Create outlines

Make sure you save a version for yourself where this hasn't been done, because once a document has been converted like this you can't undo it

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Aug 27, 2021 Aug 27, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

New to illustrator as well. When I select my text and go to the >Type > Create Outlines menu items it is greyed out. Not sure how to correct this.

Thanks

Kevin

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

When you go into VIew > Outline view - is the text black? If not, it's not text.

Can you perhaps show a screenshot?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there,

Thanks for reaching out. I would suggest you check and confirm the following things:

• Check in the layer panel if you have selected the correct text layer.
  • Check if you have chosen "Selected tool," not "Type tool" while going to the Type menu to select Create Outlines option.