3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 1, 2010 2:13 PM by KWfvmc

AE and what it all entails.

KWfvmc Level 1

Greetings Adobe community,

I am a Graphic Designer for a growing movie rental company. Recently I was asked to tackle an a.v. project for one of our promotions. Having background in Flash, Modo, and some Final Cut proved to be invaluable, seeing as I had never used AE before. Luckily enough having that experience paired with tutorials from the AE community made my solution a success. Without either of those I would have failed miserably, so much thanks to all of you out there.

I reach out today with a question regarding AE and a purchase of the software. My company's marketing director has given the ok for me to start doing some heavy investigating regarding a single purchase of the program or a new purchase of the suite. I was wondering from the community itself if there was any recommendations. Currently I am running the CS4 design suite, so I don’t believe that I can "upgrade" to a suite that contains AE, I believe I have to do standalone or new suite package, but I thought I would check.

Also, once purchasing AE is there anything that I need to get with it from adobe or from a third party? When I was following the tutorial that saved my butt, it suggested downloading some plug-ins, which I did of course. Some of those plug-ins, however, were trials. In that tutorial I believe the instructor mentioned that AE comes with extra third party plug-ins. Is this true? If not, is there a way to purchase the plug-ins through adobe with the software. Or, is there a bundle out there somewhere on the web I can purchase that would contain primarily everything I need. Obviously a matter of opinion/taste will dictate some of these answers, but that is ok, I need as much input as I can.