• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Localized help

Sep 10, 2010 Sep 10, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all,

I hope this is the correct place to post this.

I do the online help (chms) for our products using RoboHelp 8 HTML - in English and French. I set up the project exactly as described in this article. [Link removed by moderator as the target article no longer exists.]
My company is considering translating our products (and the help) in 20 other languages. So here are 2 questions:

• The translation will be done by some subsidiaries of the group we belong to. It is unlikely that they will have RoboHelp, and I have no idea how good their knowledge of HTML will be. How do I make sure they see and don't mess up the proprietary RoboHelp conditional tags?
  • As far as snippets are concerned, I've been putting both French and English in each snippet, so as to avoid having a snippet for each language. I'm afraid either way it's going to become unmanageable with 20 languages... What do you do?

We are a small company and I am the only technical writer. We're trying to work out what processes need to be set up, so any advice (or any info on how you do it where you work, especially about managing updates) would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks for your help,
C.

Message was edited by Peter Grainge. 29 March 2017

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Sep 10, 2010 Sep 10, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First of all, I am in awe that you knew this day would come and set up your project accordingly. The hard work of getting help ready for localization is retrofitting the structure - you're already structured correctly (except for the snippets, which I'll get to).