• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

RoboHelp crashes during generation of Microsoft Help

New Here ,
Sep 29, 2010 Sep 29, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been using RoboHelp for a couple of months now and have been able to generate .CHM windows help files from all of the project created so far.  I have just encountered an issue with RoboHelp whereby the application crashes whilst generating a Windows help file.  My installation has not been upgraded or otherwise changed so I am assuming this is a project specific issue. 

I've been on the phone to Adobe technical support which proved fruitless.  I was expecting this after the adobe employee was finding it hard to remeber what RoboHelp was!!

I have raised a bug with adobe regarding this issue but was unable to provide much information as there appears to be no error log.  The Windows event viewer is clear and the application is in a clean state when re-opened.

A couple of questions for you:

Are there any know issues generating Windows Help Files?

How can I narrow down the search for the cause (get information from a log file etc.)?

Regards,

James Bewley

Version Adobe RoboHelp 8.0.2.208

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 29, 2010 Sep 29, 2010

Save a copy of the file somewhere outside the project and back up the project for extra safety.

Then look at what is in the topic apart from simple text. Remove bits at a time until it will compile. Then post back what you removed that seems to have fixed it.

See www.grainge.org for RoboHelp and Authoring tips

@petergrainge

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Try generating a CHM from one of the supplied sample projects and make sure you generate it to a local folder.