Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Export Settings for 1080p .mov file?

Oct 15, 2010 Oct 15, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have just switched from Mac to PC after 8 years on a Mac, so I'm making the move from Final Cut/Compressor to Premiere/Media Encoder. I am a wedding videographer, and for each sequence, I provide both a DVD copy (.m2v), and give the couple a high definition .mov file as well. Encoding to .m2v was easy. However, I am not having any luck with the HD file.I'll post the settings for everything below, but my basic question is, why was the output file 23 gigs? I'm used to it being in the 2 gig range, to where I can burn it to a DVD data disc.

PS - I'm just noticing that in the quicktime export settings, the output size was 1920x1280, instead of 1440x1080 (source size). Would this account for the major difference in file size? I'm exporting one now that's 1440x1080, but it will take a while...

Here is the original HDV 1080i(60) clip settings:

Clip.jpg

Here is the sequence settings:

Sequence.jpg

Here is the quicktime settings:

Quicktime.jpg

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Oct 15, 2010 Oct 15, 2010

Sorry--should have clarified--editing codec didn't matter. I meant the codec you were using for export--but you answered that anyway.

The primary determining factor of encoded file size is bit rate; if you look at one of your original encodes using QT Player Inspector, you should be able to determine the bitrate of that file. Then, you have to replicate that in Premiere. With the QuickTime format in Premiere, that's done using the Limit Data Rate checkbox and field on the main Video tab. You're b

Votes

Translate

Translate

Copy link to clipboard

Copied