• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

RoboHelp wants .css and .htt files to be writable

Oct 28, 2010 Oct 28, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

RoboHelp 8.0.2 on Windows 7, 32-bit; producing WebHelp

Moved from XP Professional to a new PC running Windows 7, 32-bit, at the beginning of the month (this month - October, 2010).

When I double-click on a topic in the Program Files to edit it, an error message appears: "To execute the selected action, the files in the list below need to be writable." The list of files contains the related .htt (template/Master Page) and .css (style sheet) for the topic, if those files are set to Read-Only in Windows Explorer.

The dialog box title is Confirm Access, and the buttons are OK and Cancel. Clicking OK makes the listed files editable. Clicking Cancel doesn't.

1. First, as a writer, I don't like the message. If the software is going to change files, it should ask permission with a question mark and a set of Yes/No buttons. Just saying.

2. More importantly, I don't want my .htt and .css files to be editable while I am working in the RH interface. It is very easy to change a style without meaning to, and those files are the safeguard of the consistent look between all authors' help projects.

3. This was not a problem in my previous installation of RH8 on Windows XP. I always worked with my .css and htt files locked down, and never saw this message before.

Has anyone else seen this? Did I somehow change the RH8 settings to require editable style sheets and templates?

Elisa

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Oct 29, 2010 Oct 29, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Elisa.