• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

H.264 VBR, 1 pass vs. 2

Contributor ,
Nov 03, 2010 Nov 03, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Is there any way to quantify the advantages of 1 pass vs. 2?  I realize it depends, in part, on the source material, but I've run some tests on 15 second clips from a project that's 30 minutes long, and I don't see any noticeable difference in image quality.  Also, the output file is only about 2% smaller with 2 passes than it is with 1.  On the other hand, it takes me 30 minutes to render the 15 second clip (it's HD) with 2 passes, which would translate into 60 hours for the whole project, vs. 30 for 1 pass.  Doesn't seem worth it to me, but I'm a newb.  Is there something I'm missing?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I notice the difference in crossfades or other areas were the image composition is changing. With 1 pass there is usually noticeable artifacting during crossfades, with 2 pass the quality level is much more even through out the video.

But more importantly, the question is, why is it taking 30 min. to render a 15 sec. clip?  I know rendering times can vary a lot depending what's on the timeline, but it takes my system typically just a few seconds to render a 15 sec. HD clip.

-Jeff

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Contributor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

> But more importantly, the question is, why is it taking 30 min. to render a 15 sec. clip?