• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I generate a Word document and a PDF from Help files?

Dec 29, 2010 Dec 29, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I am new to RoboHelp HTML, and am using version 8.  I updated some Help files, and now I want to generate output.  Here are my questions/ or the process I used:

• To compile the help, I clicked Generate Primary Layout.  Is this correct?  I noticed that the date stamp on the xpj file has not changed.  The date is still from many months ago.  (Why is that?  Should it show a recent update date?)  However, the files that I updated do reflect the dates when I made the updates.  These include art files, an hhp, and htm, js, ldb, pss, cpd files.
  • To generate a pdf, I clicked Generate PDF.  I was not able to generate the PDF at first, but then, I enabled macros in Word 2007 (Trust Center Settings > Enable all macros...and clicked the checkbox, Trust access to the VBA project object model), and clicked Generate PDF.  At the end of the generation, I got this error in Word: Microsoft Office Word has encountered a problem and needs to close.  We are sorry for the inconvenience.  The info you were working on might be lost.  Word can try to recover it for you.  I closed the dialog and Word generated several blank documents.  Microsoft Office Diagnostics was run and found one problem and corrected it.  Despite the error message, a pdf was generated.  (If you could give me any insight on why I got the error messages, that could be helpful to know).
  • How do I generate a Word document?

Thank you!

Erin

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Dec 29, 2010 Dec 29, 2010