16 Replies Latest reply: Apr 9, 2012 7:22 PM by Tosani19 RSS

Mind Looking At My Build?

literally_figurative Community Member

First, some idea of my usage: I currently use C2D laptops to edit. I am a student that wants a good machine to allow me to do freelance work and work on my own projects, focusing on the content and not having to deal with....slow everything.

I deal with DV, standard definition, so I know my build will handle that with ease. I do intend to do some HD stuff, again, likely HDV, and my intention is to get maybe a 5D to do video work. I'm looking to do music videos, so I'll be working with AE. I've seen online what the Mercury engine does and I would really like to handle HD footage from DSLRs and be able to scrub through them as though they were SD clips, so I'm looking to do HD editing and have a smooth experience. I'll also be doing some gaming, but I guess that is really secondary. Any advice on this build would be great, and I still need a decent monitor ~$300 if anyone could suggest!

EVGA GeForce GTX470 1280 MB DDR5 PCI-Express 2.0 Graphics Card 012-P3-1470-AR

Intel Core i7 950 3.06GHz 8M L3 Cache LGA1366 Desktop Processor

Cooler Master RR-B10-212P-G1 Hyper 212 Plus 775/1156/1366/AMD/AM2/AM3 Universal Direct Contact Heat-Pipe 120mm Fan CPU Cooler

Patriot Viper II Sector 7 Edition DDR3 12 GB (3 x 4 GB) PC3-12800 1600MHz 8-9-8-24 for Intel Core i7 PV7312G1600LLK

Cooler Master RC-922M-KKN1-GP HAF 922M ATX Mid Tower Case (Black)

OCZ OCZ600MXSP ModXStream Pro 600 Watt Power Supply

Western Digital Caviar Black 1 TB Desktop Hard Drive (WD1002FAEX)

Western Digital 2 TB Caviar Black SATA 7200 RPM 64 MB Cache Bulk/OEM Desktop Hard Drive WD2001FASS

Western Digital 2 TB Caviar Black SATA 7200 RPM 64 MB Cache Bulk/OEM Desktop Hard Drive WD2001FASS

Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit System Builder 1pk

Lite-On LightScribe 24X SATA DVD+/-RW Dual Layer Drive IHAS424-98 - Retail (Black)