• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Can't Edit/Fill out pdf form in acrobat; PLEASE HELP, Urgent!

New Here ,
Jan 25, 2011 Jan 25, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello to whoever hopefully reads this and helps me.  I'm not an acrobat user, so I'm a noob and rather unfamiliar.  I'm trying to fill out a very important job app and am unable to do so.  I've become very frustrated.

I own Reader, but found out I can't edit the doc in that.  So I downloaded the Acrobat Pro trial version.  I'm still unable to edit the doc.  Here are some clues:

1.  The regular icon doesn't turn into the "I beam" when I drag it over fields that I need to fill in.

2.  When I go to properties, security, security method is set to none, and document restrictions are all set to "allowed."

3.  Lastly, there's this little blue circle with an "I' in it at the top of the doc.  It reads:  "The files you have opened complies with pdf/a standard and has been opened read only to prevent modification."

Someone, anyone PLEASE HELP!  Thanks a million.  I need this job!

regards,

adam

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The form probably does not have fields, so you'll have to use the Typewriter tool or add your own fields, which is a lot of work.

But you need to first turn off PDF/A mode: Edit > Preferences > Documents > View Documents in PDF/A mode> Never

To activate the Typewriter tool, see: http://blogs.adobe.com/vikrant/2010/11/where-is-the-typewriter-tool-in-acrobat-x/

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines