Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Losing Flash External Dynamic Text in Captivate

Explorer ,
Jun 09, 2006 Jun 09, 2006

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to Captivate, so bear with me.
I have created a Flash file that calls externally text to be loaded into a scrolling text field. This works fine as a standalone swf. When I import into Captivate, I can see the dynamic text appear in the small preview pane of the import window, but when I publish the Captivate movie. I have made sure to include the external txt files in the same directory.

Any ideas on what I could be doing wrong?
TIA,
Deb
TOPICS
Getting started

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Jun 29, 2006 Jun 29, 2006

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Deb

This falls into that "odd" or "grey area" category and is likely the reason you haven't seen anyone reply. I say "odd" or "grey area", because you are now beyond the realm of pure Captivate behavior and have entered the realm of where you are now blending Captivate with other Flash output in an effort to try and achieve something unique. And there is absolutely nothing wrong with this. Personally, I would encourage it, as you never know what you will discover to create a neat effect.

However, having said that, you are now dabbling in something that perhaps nobody else has yet tried. I'm no Flash expert just yet, but I'm beginning to work on those skills. From what I DO understand about blending Captivate with Flash, I believe Captivate only likes and easily works with Flash 6 output and Actionscript 1. Anything newer and it likely won't work. I'm unsure if Flash 6 output is even possible to create, where you can call an external text file. For all I know at this stage, it could be a Flash 7 or Flash 8 only feature.