4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 9, 2011 11:57 AM by Crist OC/PC

Question CPU speed VS RAM speed

inaksi prod Level 1

I am tweaking my new worstation.

I have an Asus p6t ws professional. I7 960

24 G DDR3 tripple channel ram (Patriot Level 7 Viper II)

I am new to overclocking and I up to now I don't know how to solve this propblem.

If I overclock the CPU by putting the BCLK frenquency to 160, with default multiplier at 25, I clock 4.07

But, when I check the speed of my RAM with CPU-Z, I get a clock of 490 (!!!) so time two 980 (not even the 533 x2 to 1066)

If I put my bios to XMP mode I get my ram to 1600, but my cpu is about 3.4 (close to normal 3.2)

How can I OC to 4.0 with 24 G RAM at 1600?

The mother board manual say it acccept 1600 RAM but (OC) And THEY SAY THAT iNTEL SPECIFICATION, IN xmp mode, DDR3-1600 are supported for one DIMM per channel only (does that mean I cn only put 16 gig in channel A,B and C If I want 1600 OR 24G butr at a lower clock around 1066?

IF I am stucked in making choices and can't have it all (CPU 4.0 and 24D RAM-1600), WICH IS THE MOST IMPORTANT: CPU SPEED OR RAM SPEED?

I mostly edit P2 and wil be editing red and filmstock transfered.

• 1. Re: Question CPU speed VS RAM speed
          Harm Millaard Level 7

If you have Speedstep enabled, CPU-Z reports your BCLK setting and the current multiplier.

Start reading here: Adobe Forums: Overclocking the i7, a beginners guide

• 2. Re: Question CPU speed VS RAM speed
            JEShort01 Level 4

Using a Gigabyte MB and cooling with water my i7-950 is rock stable at 4.3 with 24GB of 1600 G Skill RAM running at 1624; I have CPU turbo disabled and RAM XMP enabled and running at 1.5 volts.

Based on my clocks (BCLK 203, CPU 21, turbo off, QPI 36, MEM 8, and Uncore 16), I would suggest trying the following to reach 4.0 with your 1600 rated RAM:

BCLK 190

CPU 21

turbo off

QPI 36

MEM 8

Uncore 16