Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

InDesign RGB to CMYK Conversion

Community Beginner ,
May 21, 2011 May 21, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I am new to InDesign and the export for printing process and am hoping you can help.  Here's my issue:

I am trying to prepare a PDF of a book for print.  The pages are are photos that were edited in photoshop - all RGB.  I've been exporting to PDF (small file export) along the way and what I've learned today is that the small file sizes are RGB output so the color in the on screen PDF looked just as it did on screen in InDesign.  All great.

Last night however, I did a press export to PDF to preview (PDF/X-1a) and when viewing on screen everything is SO dark - many of the images you can't even make out.  In researching today I've found this is due to the print gamut - many of the vivid RGB colors are not compatible in CMYK.  Makes sense - I just need to figure out how to quickly get the vibrance of my photos back.

I'm guessing I need to convert something to CMYK, then do lots of color adjustments, but am looking for advice as to how best to do this:

1. Is it best to covert the original PS files to CMYK or do this in InDesign?
  2. How do I change the settings to CMYK (color settings?  Convert profile?)
  3. What's the best way to get my vivid color back - can I just play with vibrance/saturation or is it more of a curves thing? or D, none of the above?

Thanks so much for your help.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
May 21, 2011 May 21, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied