Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Help for User Permission Level Context Sensitive Help

Participant ,
Nov 06, 2007 Nov 06, 2007

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, all!

I'm charged with changing the way that we use RoboHelp and call to the help files from our web-based application, and am having a difficult time trying to find any information on how to do this (I have very little coding background!). I'm hoping someone here will know how to help me!

The UI designers want help for a new system to appear differently based on the way the user is logged in: Internal User, Administrator (Client), User (Client). They also want help to open in a pop-up window using AJAX or javascript to call the help file, identify the user-level, and retrieve the appropriate text. The closest thing I've found researching this involves a database ( http://www.codeproject.com/winhelp/RoboHelp_X5_Web_CHM.asp).

My thoughts say there needs to be some sort of code in the html of the topic to identify different users for different text, kind of like this:

<Internal_User>
<Admin_User>
<User>
text
text
</User>
text
text
</Admin_User>
more text
</Internal_User>

So, my first question is: Is this possible at all? If so, how would the developers call, do I need to use mapIDs? How can I make the TOC change based on the user log in credentials?

The other things that worry me are: What if I need a particular user to be able to see help in several areas of one topic? Can I force an application to look through the entire topic for each tag before generating the help? Do I need to use a database?

Well, you get the point. There are a ton of questions that I can build on, but I'll wait for the "Can I do this?" answer and add more later! :)

Thanks in advance for any responses!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,