• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Which file format renders the fastest?

New Here ,
Jun 24, 2011 Jun 24, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a student and I'm editing variety of file formats and codecs like .wmv, .mp4 (h.264/aac), .mpeg, .mov, and others...

What project settings should I use to render or export these videos fast?

Or, if that is not possible...

What file format should I convert all the videos before editing?

(Like if you are using Final Cut Pro, you convert it to Apple ProRes422 first before you edit)

Thanks guys!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The answer is you export to the file format that matches what you are going to DO with the video

You need to tell everyone what you are going to do, then maybe someone will have an idea of a "best" codec to use for your output

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Thanks for the reply!

What I meant was...

What file format renders (both playback or export) the fastest in Premiere CS5?

I know Premiere CS5 considers a lot of format "native" but I noticed render speed is different with different file formats...

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

> (Like if you are using Final Cut Pro, you convert it to Apple ProRes422 first before you edit)

I think that you're missing an important point. One of the advantages of Premiere Pro is that you don't have to do that. There's no need to transcode to a separate format for editing. You can just edit using the native file formats.

Votes

Translate