• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

New to RoboHelp... can it do this?

New Here ,
Jun 28, 2011 Jun 28, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to RoboHelp.  Actually, I have never used it.  But I need to know if it can handle what I need to do before I invest in it and spend a lot of time trying to figure it out.  I have read through a lot of introductions, tutorials, product overviews, etc. and they all talk about a lot of features that are really nice.  But what I need is VERY simple.  So it seems to be skipped by all of the tutorials, articles, etc.  So I want to find out if RoboHelp can do what I need, which I assume it can because my needs are simple.  But I also want to get some ideas on how best to approach this.

I have a VERY large application with a custom help system.  I want to convert this to RoboHelp.  By large I mean many applications, many millions of lines of text stored is nearly 10,000 individual help screens.  I assume this is large, but maybe it is not compard to the average these days.

Here's the problem.  If I manually enter the information it will take an estimated 24+ months for a team of 25 to 35 contractors or more at a cost of around $5M just to get the help moved over.  That is not within the budget.  However, I can covert the help screens however I wish.  I can convert them to HTML, CSV, TXT, or whatever else I need to.  But there are tags in them for context-sensitive help.  So when a user clicks help on a screen, the help pops up and positions to that page in the help application.  But that about all there is to it.  The help is very simple, no graphics, no styles or anything.  Just .TXT files and context-sensitive tags.  I know RoboHelp can support those.  But can I create some tagged marked-up version of the current files and use those to load into RoboHelp.