• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Using Word wisely as a linked document for RH HTML 9

New Here ,
Jul 05, 2011 Jul 05, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to application help authoring and a total newbie to RoboHelp.  I am writing a help project with RoboHelp HTML 9 for a brand-new software application.  Virtually no content already exists in any sort of document, so I have the opportunity/challenge of starting from scratch.  Since a handful of users will have authority to update content (but little bandwidth to learn much about RH), I was planning to write everything in Word 2010 and then link to my project.  What I'd like to know as I get started is:  Does this make sense as an approach (as opposed to, say, authoring in RH and then using print output for training and other doc requirements)?  What are the pitfalls to avoid?  What should I do/avoid in the Word doc to make the connection to RH 9 go as smoothly as possible?  Are certain layouts more congenial to linking with Word than others?

I realize this is several questions--I'd be happy to get a recommendation on a helpful source of info or guidance on making these sorts of macro decisions.  I self-educated using an "Essentials of RH" workbook and have studied the User's Guide and forums to create a prototype set of help topics for my client, but I haven't been able to find a good source of general info that addresses "why do this vs. that?" or "if I had had the luxury of being in control of the content from the get-go, I'd certainly have done X, Y, and Z."  I am grateful (in advance) for any help you more-experienced community members can suggest.

Regards,

Amanda A

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jul 07, 2011 Jul 07, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied