Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Replace words based upon the build

New Here ,
Aug 04, 2011 Aug 04, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am new to RoboHep and I have a question. I am trying to have different builds of a WebHelp for different companies. I want to be able to replace the name of the main Company throughout the WebHelp when I do a build for example. If the name of a Company is "Mike" and I am doing a build for a company named "Dave" everytime "Mike" appears in the original Help I want it to replace with "Dave" upon the build. I know I can use find and replace and just have different projects for each company, but is there a way to do this conditionally?

Thanks for the help.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am using RoboHelp 8

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Sure there is. You can use the User Defined Variables functionality for precisely this purpose. Make sure you have the Variables pod displayed (View > Pod > User Defined Variables) and click the top left icon (the one that looks like two cogs). Give the variable a name (e.g. companyname) and an initial value (companyA). If you then add the variable to the content instead of the actual company name, you only have to update the variable value for the change to be reflected everywhere the variable exists. So in summary, just create and add variable and change the varaibale value before creating your output.

The RoboColum(n)   @robocolumn   Colum McAndrew

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied