• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What is the best way to set up my CFB2 environment?

Contributor ,
Jul 27, 2011 Jul 27, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to CFB2 but have been using Dreamweaver (DW) for years.  Homesite before that.  I'm trying to take advantage of what I think are efficiencies in CFB vs. DW but running into problems figuring out the best way to set up my environment, i.e., should I use local, remote, RDS, FTP?

Here's my set up.  I have three servers that I must VPN in to work with.  Each server's root is a mapped drive on my local PC where I do actual development.  I am remote so I work through a basic Comcast highspeed internet connection.  Using DW, I created "sites" that are seen as local because they point to my mapped drives (even though the machines are remote).  There are some latency issues when opening/saving but for the most part I have just dealt with it.

So how should I set up CFB to take advantage of all the new server options?  Use "local" or "remote"?  One big problem I just ran into is that I can't see any of the database stuff when connected via RDS because I have IIS compression enabled and I get an error related to that (never been a problem with DW).  So that's a non-starter.

Anyway, I'm very good at dealing with new software but I have to admit I'm having trouble switching over to CFB unless someone can help me understand how I can take advantage of it vs what's in DW.  One thing I thought you could do is hook up CFB so that when you are writing CFQUERY you will get a tooltip that shows you all the available tables, etc.  That would be nice to have.  But how do I get there??

Thanks.

TOPICS
Builder

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more