26 Replies Latest reply: Sep 13, 2011 2:09 PM by Peter Spier RSS

Apostrophe or ditto?

Michael Witherell ACP

Calling all type gurus! (InDesign CS5.5) When I click on Type menu > Insert Special Character > Quotation Marks > "Single Straight Quotation Marks (Apostrophe)" it puts into the text a single straight ditto mark, but it seems to me that it most definitely is not an apostrophe! Doesn't an apostrophe match a curly single right quotation mark? And more than that, why isn't there a choice in that menu for a proper apostrophe, iow, one that is curly and typographic? What is up with that? Many thanks!

Mike Witherell in Alexandria, Virginia

• 1. Re: Apostrophe or ditto?
          Peter Spier ACP/MVPs

Hi Mike.

I'm not a typographic expert, but I bet neither are most of the programmers who build fonts (even if the font designers are), and that this is a case of needing unique names for the different glyphs inside the font files and engineers lacking imagination (did I just say that?).

When you look at the Glyphs panel, Unicode position 0027 is the single straight mark, and its name is Apostrophe. 2019 is the right-hand curly mark, and it's name is Right Single Quotation. We use the same key to enter both single quotation and apostrophe marks (unless you have a special font that has differentiated glyphs for the right quote and apostrophe, but I don't think I've ever seen one), and we depend on built in logic to know which glyph (in the case of curlies) should be inserted. I think the menu is simply reflecting both the use and the name of that single glyph that gets used in all three positions if straight quotes are enabled.

• 2. Re: Apostrophe or ditto?
            [Ariel] Community Member

I think you're right that a single straight quote mark is not an

apostrophe. It's more like a feet (measurement) mark.

A proper apostrophe is the same a single right quotation mark. And

perhaps there isn't a choice for it there (I'll take your word for it, I