3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 19, 2011 7:48 AM by willmp

How to save a file as a clickable image

willmp

I'm new to Flash (CS5.5) but have self taught quite a bit. I created a simple "slide show" model of images which fade in and out to other images—it's a holiday greeting card. How do I save/export/publish (not sure of the correct terminology) this .fla file so that my end result is an image that I can insert (as an image) into an email (outlook) and send. The recipient should be able to click on the image and activate the movie. I've searched for hours on the web and have not found the answer.

• 1. Re: How to save a file as a clickable image
          Jay_Armstrong Level 1

Depends.

To attach an image (not the FLA) to the email, you can use the File > Export command to export an an image of the stage or of a selected object on the stage. If you have a slideshow, you could just use the first image of the slideshow as the email attachment. Then you would need to add a hyperlink to the image in the email to send the user to the SWF on a web page somewhere. That's probably the simplest way.

Attaching the SWF itself to the email wouldn't allow you to open it via a click on an image embedded in the email. They's need to just open the attachment. Probably not the user experience you have in mind.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How to save a file as a clickable image
            willmp Level 1

Thank you Jay. The way you described it is the way we went about creating our first ecard last year. This year my manager would like me to create an ecard that mimics others like those found on www.punchbowl.com where the recipient of an ecard clicks on a bitmap image embedded in the email (for example, as you said, the first image of the ecard animation) launching the movie as if “in” the image, and not redirecting the reader to another site. If this is possible, let me know, but regardless, I do appreciate your response.